Gold curve
Sub Title

Gluten or No Gluten?

We’ve received a few enquiries recently about our gluten free beers, and so its long overdue time for this blog.

Most beer is made using barley, or wheat – both sources of gluten. Some beers are made using sorghum, a gluten-free grain primarily grown in parts of Africa, primarily because it requires far less water than crops such as barley and wheat.

However Malted Sorghum is not readily available in the UK, and so for our scale of brewery, using sorghum to make beer is not an option.

Instead we brew our beers using traditional ingredients. We then use an commerically available enzyme, known as Brewer’s Clarity, to remove the gluten from the beer before packaging and selling it.

That is why our gluten beers list barley and often wheat as allergens, alongside the gluten free text.

In the UK, to advertise a product as gluten free, the gluten content must be less than 20 parts per million (ppm). You can find more information by following this link

In order to ensure our beers meet this exacting standard, they are regularly field and lab-tested using approved methods.

We recently sent five of our beers away for testing, and all were below 10ppm of gluten, so well within spec.

All of our bottles beers are gluten-free, as well as Pilsner and Pocket Rocket – so you can drink these assured that we are working hard behind the scenes to provide great tasting beer with no gluten!

Thanks for your support,